The long awaited 2013 FIFA Ballon d’Or award has been made and the winner of the prestigious award was Real Madrid’s C.Ronaldo who made a superb year not only with his club but for his national team as he pushed Portugal into the 2014 World Cup.

The Portuguese star of Real Madrid dropped a few tears from his eyes when he stepped up to accept the trophy.

“There are no words to describe this moment,” C.Ronaldo said as he received the award.

He received more votes than Lionel Messi and Franck Ribery. The voting was done by the national team captains and coaches as well as a few selected journalists. Despite Lionel Messi being injured for around 2 months, the Argentine finished in 2nd place as the results of the votes displayed the Argentine having 1,205 points while C.Ronaldo narrowly defeated him with 1,365 points.

“People who know me know how many people helped me,” the emotional winner said in Portuguese. “If I have forgotten anyone, I do apologize because I am deeply moved.”

Lionel Messi had won the trophy for 4 consecutive years but his injury was one of the biggest reasons on why he could not on win the silverware for another successive time but even with the injury that the star of Barcelona sustained, the accolades and performances of C.Ronaldo simply cannot be ignored and even though the results of the draw displayed it to be a fairly tight race, no one can deny the fact that C.Ronaldo was playing on a league of his own.

The World XI which was elected by players in the FIFPro group of national unions included: Manuel Neuer, Dani Alves, Sergio Ramos, Thiago Silva, Phillip Lahm, Andres Iniesta, Xavi Hernandez, Franck Ribery, Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Lionel Messi.

The team mostly had players of Barcelona and Bayern Munich.